Veena a 2022 NSW Woman of Excellence Award finalist

UNSW SMaRT Centre Director, Professor Veena Sahajwalla, have been shortlisted as a finalist for the 2022 NSW Woman of Excellence Award.

Veena joins some of our State’s most inspiring women have been named as finalists in the 2022 NSW Women of the Year Awards.

Minister for Women Bronnie Taylor, in announcing the finalists, said the 31 remarkable women and girls are making a significant impact across the board, from science to education, health, industry, culture and community.

“I’m always inspired by the calibre of women nominated for these awards and the outstanding contributions they are making in their communities across the State,” Mrs Taylor said.

“Despite all of the challenges COVID-19 has thrown our way, there were more than 300 nominations, showcasing incredible women from all walks of life who are championing positive change.

“These finalists are an inspiration to us all and it’s wonderful to see them getting the acknowledgment they deserve.

“On behalf of NSW, I extend a massive congratulations to all of the finalists. You are all incredible individuals who make an enormous contribution to our communities.”

There are seven award categories in the 2022 program, including the Premier’s Award for NSW Woman of the Year, which is selected from the winners of all the categories.

The finalists are:

NSW Woman of Excellence Award

  • Dr Jill Duncan 
  • Licia Heath
  • Kylie Pussell
  • Professor Julie Redfern
  • Professor Veena Sahajwalla

Read the biographies of the above finalised

Cancer Institute NSW Aboriginal Woman of The Year Award

  • Jarin Baigent
  • Jane Kemp
  • Aunty Beryl Van-Oploo
  • Yvonne Weldon

NSW Young Woman of The Year Award

  • Emily Bobis
  • Julie Charlton
  • Camille Goldstone-Henry
  • Angelique Wan

NSW Minerals Council Regional Woman of The Year Award

  • Anna Barwick
  • Rebel Black
  • Julie Brady
  • Jody Ekert

Aware Super NSW Community Hero of the Year Award

  • Samantha Hollier-James
  • Stacy Jane
  • Roz Knights
  • Ellena Morris

One to Watch Award

  • Emily Bartrop
  • Laura Carter
  • Joss Davies
  • Edie Hall
  • Shalise Leesfield
  • Ariba Omar
  • Karin Rezkalla
  • Madeline Saxby
  • Lennox Wade
  • Grace Yeo

Winners will be announced on Wednesday, 9 March, at the 2022 NSW Women of the Year Awards at the International Convention Centre Sydney and livestreamed online.

The awards are part of NSW Women’s Week from Monday, 7 March to Sunday, 13 March.
To read more about the awards and finalists, visit: