SMaRT leaders win two of four top engineering awards

UNSW SMaRT Centre's Director, Professor Veena Sahajwalla, and Head of MICROfactorieTM Technologies, Anirban Ghose, have won two of the four 2023 Engineers Australia Excellence Awards (People & Projects Sydney) at a ceremony last night.

See Engineers Australia announcement

Anirban took out the Emerging Professional of the Year accolade, and Veena won the prestigious College Chemical Engineer Achievement Award. The awards were in recognition of their outstanding contribution to creating positive engineering impact through their waste and recycling innovations.

EA awards

“The Engineers Australia Excellence Awards go beyond recognising the pinnacle of engineering accomplishments. They bring attention to the everyday contributions of engineers in our lives,” said Jamie Burrage, Engineers Australia GM Sydney in a media release.

“Those celebrated exhibit outstanding leadership and show a commitment to the community and the environment. These accolades give them a platform to spotlight their successes and to emphasise the value of engineering, providing direction and inspiration for the next generation of engineers.”

Sydney Division Emerging Professional Engineer of the Year: Anirban Ghose

Anirban Ghose has demonstrated passion, innovation and entrepreneurial success through this research and implementation of micro-factories. His work has driven the growth of advanced manufacturing in regional NSW. Combining mechatronics, nanoscience, and engineering backgrounds, Anirban has in-depth research and practical experience of recycling material opportunities, and development of technologies for incorporating recycled materials and goods into useable products.

Chemical College Chemical Engineer Achievement Award: Professor Veena Sahajwalla

Professor Veena Sahajwalla epitomises excellence in Chemical Engineering. Her pioneering research in high temperature conversion of waste, earned her the title of NSW Australian of the Year. As the inventor of 'Green Steel’ and creator/developer of micro-recycling, Professor Sahajwalla is reshaping the circular economy and global recycling approaches.

Sydney Division Project of the Year: Central Station Metro Works by Aurecon, Sydney Metro, Laing O'Rourke, GHD, John McAslan + Partners, Woods Bagot, Atkins
This landmark Sydney central transport hub has been expertly redeveloped, re-imagined and recreated. The novel top-down construction approach led to efficiencies in project implementation in a live rail environment. The challenges to build the design below an existing and busy live station is next level, utilising innovative and unconventional approaches. Sustainability and a 6-star design review rating was achieved, resulting in an impressive example of enhancing both the economic and social outcomes.

Sydney Division Professional Engineer of the Year: Paul Rogers
Paul Rogers’ entrepreneurship has contributed to the engineering industry's growth and driven successes on some of the state’s key projects, including metro and light rails. His social approach to the industry considers a balanced approach to diversity and knowledge growth. Throughout his career, he has continually strived for improved practices for better social and project outcomes.

The Engineers Australia Excellence Awards seeks to recognise and reward outstanding achievement in engineering. Local winners will go on to represent their division at the national awards in Melbourne on November 29.

Anirban and EA CEO at awards 2023
Grant Scott and Veena EA awards
Image (7)
Image (5)
Image (3)